Storage for theoretical physics environment at LiU

NAISS 2024/6-85


NAISS Medium Storage

Principal Investigator:

Rickard Armiento


Linköpings universitet

Start Date:


End Date:


Primary Classification:

10304: Condensed Matter Physics

Secondary Classification:

20599: Other Materials Engineering



This request is for continued storage for the theoretical physics environment at LiU, which continues our previous allocations (NAISS 2023/6-41, SNIC 2022/6-10, SNIC 2021/6-201, SNIC 2020/6-95, SNIC 2019/35-64, SNIC 2014/5-59) for NSC center storage under "/proj/theophys". We also ask to continue our storage in the PDC Klemming file system. We request this project continues directly after NAISS 2023/6-41 ends. The allocation will serve at least the active/approved compute projects: * NAISS 2023/1-11 (2023-07-01 - 2024-07-01) * LiU-2019-26 (2019-06-25 - 2024-07-01) * NAISS 2023/3-2 (2024-01-01 - 2025-01-01) For more scientific details of what projects the storage will be used for, please refer to those proposals. The environment of the Theoretical Physics Division at the Department of Physics, Chemistry and Biology (IFM), Linköping University includes all our Ph.D. students, senior members, and some collaborators, which makes around 50 researchers pursuing computation in connection to various SNIC grants connected to this division. We have consistently over many years produced high-quality scientific publications citing SNIC resources, including Nature Materials, Nature Communications, and Physical Review Letters. Our grants pertain to a wide range of research in materials science, materials design, functional materials, etc. We employ a wide range of methods, e.g., electronic structure simulations, molecular dynamics, Monte Carlo simulations, phonon calculations, etc. The Theoretical Physics division leader, Igor Abrikosov, is well recognized in Sweden and internationally. He has more than 300 papers with more than 12000 citations and h-index 58. In 2007, he was awarded Göran Gustafsson Prize in Physics, perhaps the most prestigious national scientific prize in Sweden. In 2016 Igor Abrikosov was elected as a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (KVA, class Physics).